What’s That Smell? … I Think It’s The Dog Ma ….

I never really followed Steve Jobs or Apple computers, but with all the hype that came across the newswires I gravitated toward a quote he said a few years ago at some college commencement.  This is a quote that belongs on this blog.

This blog lets me vent about the bullshit that goes on within our institutional church walls (it just makes me feel better, and hopefully spurs on good discussion).  You know the stuff that drives you crazy, and many of you are afraid to ask why?  Well, just voice it.  Do not chamber it, and stow it away to keep the status quo.  Let it out!  (Disclaimer: When I discuss church matters I am not talking about the people who make up the Church, I am talking about the human made system within the church walls).

Even though Steve Jobs was I think a Buddhist, this statement can fit other faiths…especially Christianity.

“Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking.”

This quote makes my all-time top 10 list! 

This quote is one of the main reasons I left the institutional church years ago … freakin’ dogma!

What is dogma?  In this post I am defining it as “a doctrine, or body of doctrines concerning faith or morals formally stated and authoritatively proclaimed by a church”

Human traditions, elders as the supreme court, rules, regulations, codes, memberships, modes of baptism, frequency of communion, type of communion, music, no music, old earth, young earth, Calvinism, Arminianism, daily bible reading, prayer groups, spiritual disciplines, passive spectatorship, drinking, cussing, pastors, dress codes, leadership classes, and a bunch of other crap that results in other people’s thinking.  The list could go on for a long time.

Well, I am out of the institutional church system, the strong realm of bondage where you are tied up and gagged into whatever set of rules are pumped through your veins every Sunday. 

All of the stuff I listed, and there are many others, are secondary to what really matters.  Because our first order reality is Christ and Him only!  Nothing more, nothing less, nothing else. 

Christ is not “people’s thinking”.  Christ just IS.  He is everything.  He is the magnet that holds everything in the universe together.  What He says is what I follow, not human traditions.  I am to go out (with others) and love one another, and we are to love God with all our heart, mind, soul, and strength.  That means to love others regardless of what they think or believe in those secondary matters, or dogma.

Now let us all (His followers) get together and BE the actual Body of Christ, so the world can see what the “ALLNESS” of God looks like!

Leave a Reply

