The Irony Of It All

This whole Chick-fil-a episode is just another example of the level of bullshit (from both sides) trying to push their political agendas.

It is a boxing match.  

In the “right” corner of the ring weighing in for the so-called “Christian” (or Republican) majority is a fight for a biblical definition of marriage (and a must win for legislating morality).  And, in the “left” corner of the ring weighing in for the so-called “Human Secularist” (or Democrat) side fighting for tolerance (and a must win for free-thinking) just bugs the absolute snot out me. 

All this type of fighting does is divides people from growing together in community of love and compassion.  The way a lot of the “Christians” act is completely on the other side of the spectrum from what is actually taught by Jesus Himself.  Jesus teaches love, not fighting, to show God’s awesomeness to the world. 

By “Christian’s” acting this way, do they think they are actually showing love as Christ’s Body?  I don’t think so.  It does not seem like a loving way to approach things to me.

I get it.  I understand the passion to want others to think exactly the way you do, but that is not what we are called to do.  We are not to shove what we think is correct down other’s throats.  We are to show others love (Jesus).  When we try to shove our legalistic thinking at others it just shoves them away and the tension builds.  Jesus actually went ballistic against these types of methods.

As I thought about this boxing match, the whole home school versus public school debate came to mind. 

As many of you know, we have homeschooled our children for the last 6 to 7 years, and it has been an awesome experience.  We, as many other families, had many reasons to school our kids at home, but it was never because we tried to keep our kids outside of the dreaded zone of Satan call “public school”.  I am not a huge fan of the inefficiencies that comes with any man-made institutions, but this year, after many days of pondering what to do for this school year, we have decided to send our kids to the public school in our district.

Well, looking closer into this chicken debacle also helped define a lot of the experiences we have encountered within the home school community at large.  The more I explored homeschooling over the years, it seems as though a lot of groups, and even a lot of the curriculum is based on traditional Christian values.  This is a great thing on the surface, just like traditional marriage is, but it is also very narrow in its teachings.  The teachings do not let anyone explore other ways of looking at things.  A lot of it is taught as the only way to think, and some are even salvation based (which really irks my ass). 

Well, for the close friends and family that knows me, I am a complete believer in Jesus Christ as the magnet that holds the entire universe together, and I want to show that love that Jesus teaches to my kids and to others, but I am just not comfortable with some of the attitudes of the homeschooling community and many curricula, both online and in person I have encountered over the years.  Many attitudes mirror the same political agenda the “right” side of the chicken boxing match fights today.  As it seems now (from my experience), a lot of home school community (not everyone of course) are simply perpetuating the needless and acrimonious political dichotomy of democrats versus republicans by using education as the implement (just like the chicken battle we see in the news). 

I want to teach our children diversity of opinions, tolerance, and even to respect scientific advances, and ultimately that all of that is second stuff to our first priority that is Jesus, and the sad thing is, it is really difficult to find that type of diversity inside the home school community of today without being labeled … “you are doing it wrong”.

Well, to that I call bullshit.

4 thoughts on “The Irony Of It All

  1. Yo! It’s me again. I couldn’t help but note the irony in your irony. Your rail (and rightly so) against the BS of the IC, the “system”. And yet the crossroads you have come to concerning your kids education is like throwing them back into Egypt. IE, Institutionalized Education, is the SAME thing as IC, only it’s a different philosophy/theology/doctrine.

    In your post today you said: “The email I read gave me a picture of a drill sergeant barking orders to a marching platoon, which to me seems really close to what a preacher does to a passive audience.  This style of preaching is nowhere to be found in Scripture, but unfortunately it IS found throughout the “church” organizational systems made by man.”
    Isn’t that a little like the lecture your hear during classes? How is that conducive to natural learning?

    Please don’t misunderstand me. I am NOT saying that sending your kids to an institution of education is a moral failure (we made that choice with our boy who’s at boot camp. We sent him to our local school his Jr and Sr years. It was as inefficient as hell!) I do not believe the purpose of homeschool is to encapsulate our kids in a “Christian” bubble. I just believe that the home is more condicuve learning environment than the public school ever will be. (we have been homeschooling for 14 years, our youngest is 1 so I have a few more years to go before closing my library…)

    Would you agree or disagree that your irony is ironic?

    1. Genoise – Oh I understand where you are coming from and if you have a couple hours I could explain all the pros and cons that went into the tough decision to send our kids into that type of learning environment. It was not an easy decision by any means. No institution is perfect, and oh believe me the public school system is waaaaaay far from perfect.

      The one main difference I see in a school environment versus a congregation environment is you are allowed to raise your hand and ask questions if you do not understand something. Try raising your hand in church.. not gonna happen.

      Swanny

  2. You’re right, it’s NOT an easy decision. Yes, it is true that you can raise your hand if you have questions in school, but the method of instruction is still the same.

    Have you ever seen ” The War on Kids” (you can find it on Netflix)? No, it is not put out by a “Christian” organization. It’s about the institution of school and it’s effect on the learning process. There is one teacher that gets interviewed who I really go a lot out of. He stated that if a child loves to write, we take that skill, and instead of just honing the skill and giving them the tools, we tell them what and how much to write. In the same way, if a child loves to read, we tell them what to read and then examine the crap out of it. Eventually, we take what was once a passion for learning and turn it into a drudgery. I’ve seen that happen with music students. The kid LOVES music, and instead of encouraging that passion, the teacher immerses the kid in the method and the passion is stifled.

    That’s all. I know what goes into making that decision. I just thought your irony was ironic. (disclaimer: the material just posted was done so in a lighthearted manner. The author has no intent on being hostile or judgmental she as her own log to contend with. No animals were harmed in the posting of this material…)

    I felt the disclaimer was necessary because 1) you don’t know me, 2) this can be a touchy subject, and 3) you and your wife are perfectly capable if making decisions for your family (but you did put it in a public forum, and busy bodies will be busy. so…)

    1. Genoise – funny disclaimer. It is only a touchy subject if someone is trying to force another person to do it the “right” way.

      I do not agree with how the church system is structured, but if a family chooses that route, who am I to say it is wrong? I can highlight the bullshit that goes on within the walls, but again it is only my findings and experience.

      I have not seen the movie, but I am pretty well versed in the bullshit that is public school too.

      Thanks for the comments.. good stuff.

Leave a comment