A Complete “Spectacle”

I have blurry vision, so I have to wear glasses.  The glasses I wear help me to see the world in a crisp, detailed way.

However, the glasses I have must be special.  I must have anti-building, anti-institution lenses … because when I see any man-made institutional structure I tend to see right through the walls, and I focus on what really matters… the people!

Well let me try to explain myself, and hopefully I do not make a “spectacle” out of myself.  (I know that was really a bad pun, but I just had to write it)

I trade and chart commodities for a living.  People seek out my expertise on where the price of natural gas, crude oil, and a ton of other commodity “markets” are headed the next day, the next week, or even the next month.  The key word here “markets”.  When you hear someone talking about the stock “market” what is the first thing that comes to mind?  Is it the big building on Wall Street?  Is it the big computer equipment all over the floor of the exchange?

Well, when I look at price charts and apply my knowledge of the “markets”, I look directly to the people who make up the market.  I see right through all the man-made structures and rules that many people think is the actual market.

When you boil everything right down to it, it is the way the PEOPLE behave that makes up the “market”.

The same goes for schools.  When you think of a “school” what is the first thing that comes to mind?  Is it the building?  Is it the big university structures that look really ornate and awesome?  Is it the big sports complex attached to the campus?  Well, when I think of “school”, I see straight through the walls and rules, and I see students and teachers.  It is the way the students and teachers behave that make up a “school”.

You do not have to go to a building to conduct school.  We home-schooled our kids for 8 years, and we taught them everywhere… in various rooms, sometimes even in a park, or even inside Panera Bread.  So does it make our house a “school” or Panera a “school” or the park a “school”?  Of course not, my wife and kids is what defines a “school”.

Lastly, the “church” is not supposed to be a building either.

When “church” is talked about many people think of the structures, the buildings, or even the ruling body who act in the place of God.   The church is not headquartered in a central location.  The church is not a convention, a building, a series of meetings, or commitments.  The church is the living Body of Christ comprised of PEOPLE.

When I look at “churches”, I see right through the walls of a man-made institution and I see the people who are the Church.

When I look at “schools”, I see right through the walls of a man-made institution and I see the people who are the School.

And when I look at “markets”, I see right past the walls of a man-made institution and I see the people who are the Market.

We see a lot of external man-made things trapping us into thinking and defining what makes up the church, the school, or the market … rituals, buildings, robes, hymns, organs, pianos, chairs, pews, windows, desks, books, trading machines, computers, and I could go on and on.

These externals should not be considered the substance of the church, the substance of school, or the substance of the market … the people are!

One thought on “A Complete “Spectacle”

Leave a Reply

