The Obama Spectrum

It just bugs me to no end how ridiculous some discussions are with my fundamental Evangelical brothers and sisters about Obama.  One thing that gives me an extreme case of BS allergies, is how the far right conservatives are so persistent about President Obama secretly being a Muslim.

It amazes me the depth of some of the beliefs out there.  One end of the spectrum is the slight suspicion that he acts like he adores Islamic people more than Americans – to the other end of the spectrum where he is a planted terrorist plotting our doom (or actually being the antichrist himself).

Are these people for real?  Do they really think this?

The sad answer to that question is that many do, and are willing to vote for anyone accept the antichrist.

I look at this theory that Obama is a Muslim about as much as the man on the moon was a hoax in 1969.  It is just conspiracy theory going nuts.

Obama comes out a lot and says he is a “Christian”, and of course the media is going to jump all over that when they can.

Well, you know what the fundamentalist right wingers think of the media, right?

I am with them there, I cannot stand the media, but that does not make me think that Obama is a terrorist just because the media is involved.  I just see it as a medium to try to capture some left “Christian” votes.

But when I approach them and ask them why they believe all this hype, they usually come up with the response that Obama’s father was a Muslim and that Obama went to a Muslim school in Indonesia or somewhere out that way.

So I would then say… just because his dad and many of his family engaged themselves in the Muslim faith, makes all the children Muslims too?

You know, most evangelical Christian parents know that children never abandon their faith of their parent’s, right? (sarcasm)

You can send them to “Christian” schools, pound the bible over their heads for years, and that makes them a “fundie” right?  A lot of them start to think for themselves, and find out that Jesus is more than politics and an organization… so they leave “your” man-made faith.

If Obama is this big raging fanatical Muslim, then why is it that he and his administration keep killing Muslims by the truckload?  So here we have a man who treats the gruesome killing of Muslim civilians as acceptable collateral damage in the fight to kill Muslim terrorists.  Yeah, that makes him a Muslim… not!

I do not agree with the approach Obama takes in life, and the decisions he makes for our country.  I do not like government control in our lives, period.  So there is no way I would vote for him.

However, could this man actually be a “Christian”, but not just fit the perfect “Christian” mold you fundamentalists are brainwashed to believe?

I might not agree with 99% of Obama’s actions and decisions, but he is much closer to being a “Christian” than his opponent is.  At least Obama says he is a Christian… something Romney cannot come out and say.

The king of fundamentalists, Mr. Graham, just did a 180 and rolled over to ask all his sheep to vote for someone who is not even a “Christian”… I wonder if Billy thinks Obama is the actually the antichrist, and must be stopped?

7 thoughts on “The Obama Spectrum

  1. Throughout the 2008 campaign, and most of his presidency, I have believed that while some of his beliefs are different than my own, Barack Obama was a Christian.

    However, in his book, The Amateur, Edward Klein interviewed Rev. Jeremiah Wright, the now former pastor of Trinity United Church of Christ in Chicago.

    Klein recounts his interview as follows:
    Klein: “Did you convert Obama from Islam to Christianity?
    Rev. Wright: “That’s hard to tell, I think I convinced him that it was okay for him to make a choice in terms of who he believed Jesus is. And I told him it was really okay and not a putdown of the Muslim part of his family or his Muslim friends.”

    If Barack Obama was a Christian, one would certainly think that his pastor of 20+ years, someone who was a mentor, an inspiration, a life-coach, and father figure, would know about it.

    Rev. Wright goes on to state that, “…church was not an integral part of their (the Obamas) lives after they got married.” However, Rev. Wright does say. “…the church was an integral part of Barack’s politics.”

  2. A friend posted this as her FB status. i’ve known her n her hubby for MANY years. They are über conservative. Thought this would make your week:

    “I recently talked with a professing Christian who was confused about who to vote for. We discussed economics, foreign policy and a few other issues. The only issue that wasn’t paramount in this persons mind was how closely aligned to the Bible the candidates values and commitments were. Although all of the issues are important, I personally am not as concerned about economics – The Lord Jesus is my (our) source! How we handle global affairs is secondary to how we stand in unison with God,s Word. God is clear on marriage issues, the value of a human life even though unborn, our relationship to Israel and the Jewish people and the health of our nation. The candidate who stands in unisons with (or as closely to) Christ should be the easy choice of every Christian. (I’ll be happy to supply Bible references to anyone who is interested). Please register and vote Christian values, not just economics and foreign policy.

    2 Chro 7: 13 If I shut up heaven that there be no rain, or if I command the locusts to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among my people; 14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land. 15 Now mine eyes shall be open, and mine ears attent unto the prayer that is made in this place”

      1. U n me both… I was thinking about this type or rhetoric, the hand-wringing people do over wanting to set each other straight over things like: who to vote for or how to vote on gay marriage (which is on the ballot for the 3rd time here in ME). The thing that has struck me, is that in SPITE of how liberal our state is (according to some), we have a very low crime rate. No one I know locks their doors, except for extended trips, no one locks their cars at night, most people will leave valuables in plain view in their cars (locked or unlocked) in the parking lot at the store. It’s like this in our neck of the woods and a lot of other places in ME, we have high crime areas, but they are few and far between. But if gay marriage passes (gasp!!!) it’s ALLLL over. Maybe the recent earthquake and the visit from Sandy are a foreshadowing of what will happen if we don’t vote the “right way”. Who knows…

      2. Different friend, but here’s her biblical backing…”As I prepare to vote in the election, I will vote for the most pro-life candidate, because God hates the shedding of innocent blood (Prov.6:17). I will vote for the most pro-Israel candidate, because God blesses those who bless Israel & curses those who don’t (Gen.12:3). I will vote for the most pro-debt reduction candidate, because the borrower is servant to the lender (Prov.22:7). I will vote for the most pro-work candidate because God says if a man will not work, let him not eat (2Thess.3:10). I will vote for the most pro-marriage candidate because God is for marriage as defined in Genesis 2:24. I will vote for the candidate who most closely believes government’s purpose is to reward the good & punish the evil (Romans 13). I will vote based as close as I can on God’s Word (2Tim.3:16). Knowing that whoever gets elected, God is the one who puts all men in authority (Dan.2:21).”

Leave a comment