Does “Cussing” Determine a Christian?

A post over at Pilgrim’s Progress  got my mind churning this morning.  It is about the power of words and language.. check it out, Eric is always a good read.

I wonder how many people visited my blog for the first time and immediately judged me for the title of my blog, or for the use of the word bullshit is some of the posts.

If you tossed me to the side because of it, that is exactly some of the BS I am trying to point out by writing this blog.

First of all, this blog is just a place to post opinions in an attempt to stir up good discussion about the church and its practices.  I am going to speak my mind, and if I truly feel something is a bunch of bull, I want others to know too.  However, this never means that my opinion is truth, exactly what’s right, or the only thing to do or not do.  I might be a little edgy, but I would never put a person down with my words.  I just want this blog to be an eye-opener for me as well as others, but I need participation to accomplish that goal.  I want to learn from all the others that are part The Body (edgy or not).

So, what do you think?

7 thoughts on “Does “Cussing” Determine a Christian?

  1. From the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things ought not to be so. (James 3:10).

    It simply doesn’t add up for a fountain to spout both salt water and fresh; or for a tree to bear fruit of disparate kinds.

    Maybe consider Ephesians 4:29 as a good guide. I guess it depends why we write; to satisfy our ego or to edify others and glorify Christ.

  2. Aussiejohn – I do not know what it is, but it feels like cussing and cursing could be two different things. If a person is not putting someone down, but just says a slang term is that the same as what the verse means?

    By my use of different words on this site is for emphasis, definitely not to be vulgar or to slam down anybody.

    Not trying to justify it, just trying to understand.

  3. I get what you mean by the deference in Cursing and Cussing… Does cussing make a christian not christian? Don’t know…

    For me I find cussing unnecessary for the most part, and rarely use slang because of the double meanings. But that is me… I work around people who cuss a lot, but I do not make an issue of it. They are just as worthy as I am. But you can read my post on condemnation to see how I have started to view other people.

  4. Cussing, cursing, swearing: same thing.

    These things don’t make one not a Christian, but do damage the fruit. To me cussing, cursing, swearing, represents an inability to use language properly and certainly doesn’t consider the reader/listener who cannot know how you intend the word to be used.

    ckroboth makes the same point, “For me I find cussing unnecessary for the most part, and rarely use slang because of the double meanings.”

    Publilius Syrus, a writer from the first century said something which we all need to remember, “Speech is the mirror of the soul; as a man speaks, so he is.”

  5. Aussiejohn – I tend to disagree slightly, but understand exactly what you are saying. If words are used in the wrong ways, they can hurt the Bride of Christ.

    Personally, I use what others would call “bad words” rather infrequently, but that is my choice. If I hear someone else using language considered “cursing” I cannot judge them for being who they are – at least they are being themselves and not trying to be someone they are not.

    I think my use of the word “bullshit” in my posts and on my site is just a word to describe the mess I think some things are in. It is not to put down another person, or done in hate, just to emphasize.

    I have always wondered what makes the word “poo” childish, the word “feces” more proper, but the word “shit” vulgar.

    1. “I have always wondered what makes etc…..” Tradition!

      The same thing which you call B.S., and causes churches to forget that the ekklesia is all genuine believers, which you have correctly identified.

      You have joined a new tradition, which is at least as old as my three score years and ten, with your use of language 🙂

Leave a Reply

