I Can See Clearly Now The “church” Is Gone…

… I can see all obstacles in my way.

I have spent almost my whole life, now over 40 years, caring far too much about offending people, worrying if I am doing the right thing, concerned if I fit in with others (wanting to be accepted), and asking myself if other people are judging me as I walked the institutional church halls.

After many years within the institutional church, being involved in many aspects of the organization (volunteering, teaching, studying, reading, small groups, prison ministry, research teams, leadership conferences, sunday school, discipleship, mentoring, and many other projects and classes) I have come to a point in my spiritual life that makes total sense to me now.  I can simply say… 

… I don’t give a shit anymore! 

I have come to learn that most of “church” (or organized religion) is a huge gigantic pile of brown squishy stuff.

As long as we accept the institutional church premise and refuse to recognize that the Church went from a functioning, living body of Christ Jesus that gathered together for roughly almost 300 years, to a position-minded, self-centered, power-hungry, choosing mammon over God “institutional” man-made organization which functions a lot like a big corporation with a “bottom line”, then we will spend most of our time debating matters on a premise that is too narrow to notice the big picture.

I am done debating these matters.  This does not make me a bitter man, it makes me a man who is finally seeing straight for the first time in his life.  I am just pissed at myself for taking 40 years to realize this.  I am now a loving man.  I do not know the answers, and in reality no one knows the answers to any of the crap argued out in the public square anyway.  

I can now hear God saying … it is about time you wised up … finally!  We can get started now that all the mumbo-jumbo garbage is pushed aside.  Time to focus on the big picture and quit meddling with the little doctrinal and “what we believe” details.  All of that is a waste of time, exactly what evil wants you to do, stay busy arguing out a “correct” answer.  It is time to just help, encourage, and love others.  Together we can show the “Allness” of God.  Together, in action, we can show the love of Christ everywhere we go.

I can give a rat’s ass if people are a certain denomination, go to church every day, don’t cuss, cuss, tithe 10%, or believe the earth is billions of years old, all of that does not matter.  I will love them for the person they are in Christ.  I do not care if they are a different race, gay, drive a VW bug, ride a Harley, a churchgoer, a democrat, drink whiskey, or all of the above.  Christ is the magnet that holds this whole flippin universe together.  There is nothing more, nothing less, or nothing else that matters … just Him, just Love!

God finally has me where he wants me, away from all the bullshit out there.  The more I read, the more I studied, the more I wanted to just walk away … and I am extremely thankful I did. 

I finally found Christ!

10 thoughts on “I Can See Clearly Now The “church” Is Gone…

    1. Bonar – If I’m ever down in Texas there are a couple shots of Kentucky straight bourbon whiskey (single barrel) with our names on it… my treat!

      I will check out that website.

  1. You had me ’til “democrat.” Those suckers are going to hell! HA! Just kidding! Christ can be so cotton-picking freeing, can’t he? Hey, I’ve been meaning to ask if you’ve read any of Frank Viola’s stuff. He’s got some great books, including Pagan Christianity and Re-imagining Church – which I think you’ll really like if you haven’t read them yet. He also has a blog called Beyond Evangelical. He’s been out of the institution since the 80’s, and is a trailblazer in living for Christ outside the man made walls.

    1. Shon – I read a lot, and yes I have read all of Frank’s books. He definitely has a lot of good stuff.

      Speaking of books, the guy that commented above you, Bonar Crump, has an awesome book you should read. I think you would really like it. It is called “Throwing Hammers: Separation of church and self”

      I think it is 99 cents on Kindle.

      1. I could have guessed that you were an avid reader. 🙂 I’ll look into that book. Although, I grew weary focusing on the subject of “church” a while back. I just got into a discussion with someone about organic church this morning, and realized how tired I am of the conversation. You know? I’m more interested in the authentic wresting of being a Christ follower. That’s why posts like this resonate with me. When I first bucked the system I soon realized that it seemed like I was fighting against the church. So then I told myself that I’m not fighting against it, I’m fighting for it. I’m actually tired of the “fighting” part all together. Mostly because I think it all becomes so complicated. I’ve enjoyed reading stuff from people like Viola and Hirsch and on and on, but it begins to feel like everyone’s trying too hard to figure it all out and come up with their version of the perfect game plan. “Keep it simple, stupid!” I want simplicity. Unfortunately, all the Christian gurus make it complex in order to create need – a need for them.

        Sorry, I just rambled a bit there. I, like you, just want to be away from the bullshit!

      2. Shon – You are right on.. after the years of wresting with “church” I have come to realize I was focusing on the wrong things. If I focus on Christ, the “church” comes naturally… because He IS the Church. The people are out there a need help in many ways.

        I understand where you are coming from, but Bonar’s book is a book slightly different then what we are used too when talking church. It is honest, and has a really good analogy using a trade show that brought a great deal of light to my post-institutional wilderness journey.

        Later…

    1. Arthur – There was a stretch of time I felt that way… but it sure has passed now 🙂

      I love others so much more now not worrying about what they think of me. I just want to love and serve. I listen to everyone, and learn a lot from others – your blog included 🙂

      Thanks for reading my ramblings.

  2. You hit the nail right on the head!! A little something more Ive dealt with is backstabbing friends in the church. I trusted people and they backstabbed me in a church. I have not gone back to once since it happened. I definately can forgive em but it tarnished my way of thinking about churches.

    First and foremost is keep God in your heart everything else is nonsense.

    1. jennsmind – Thanks for stopping by and taking time to comment. Welcome.

      I hear a lot of stories about back-stabbings at church. It is really sad that happens in that environment, but people are a product of their environment, so maybe there is something a little off with the system.

Leave a Reply

